When your first post-Christmas purchase is a pocket guide DSM-IV. (For those of you who don’t know, it’s the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition, basically our diagnostic handbook.) Yeah, I’m a therapist. There are a whole list of books that I want to get, mostly about family art therapy.

I saw my first kid/family yesterday. I have another one coming today at 2pm. I’m starting to get a sense of how acute these kids are. I’ve got two with autism spectrum disorders, which I haven’t really worked with much, and an older teen girl with some distinct Axis 2 issues. Whoo boy. I have to keep telling myself  “I am an experienced therapist, I am an experienced therapist, I am an experienced therapist. ” Moving from “keep you in one piece until you go to court” to “long term therapy to try to fix you” is going to be an interesting transition. Good, but interesting, and certainly challenging.

 

Apartment search continues. We looked at one last night which was instantly vetoed because of a galley kitchen. I could barely cook dinner in there, let alone brew beer.  Trying to find an inexpensive two bedroom place that takes cats, is in a decent neighborhood, and isn’t more than a 1/2 hour drive for either of us is turning into a challenge. I was hoping for a shorter commute, so was The Boy, but our jobs are 15 miles away from each other, and the middle ground apartments are too expensive and/or don’t take cats. Grrr…

